As communities throughout Western North Carolina begin to feel the impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19), The Town of Maggie Valley would like to share with you the steps we are taking to help protect the health and safety of our citizens and employees, which is always our top priority.

We are closely monitoring local and national reports on the evolving impact of COVID-19. Based on guidance from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) NC Department of Health & Human Services, the Haywood County Department of Health and Human Services, and other applicable public health agencies, we’ve developed contingency plans and are taking the proper recommended precautions.

Beginning on Wednesday March 18 2020 at 8am, the Town of Maggie Valley’s Town Hall and IC Sutton Public Safety will be closed to the public until further notice. In both locations, Town Staff will be available during normal business hours to assist you by phone or email throughout the closure. Services provided by Planning & Zoning, Public Works, Sewer and Police will not be impacted.  Those needing to make tax payments can do so electronically (https://maggievalleynctax.com/#) or by mail.  In addition to the closure of Town Hall – the Maggie Valley Senior Nutrition Center, The Maggie Valley Branch of the Haywood County Library and the Maggie Valley Pavilion will also close for the foreseeable future.

Due to continued theft of toilet paper and vandalism of toilet paper dispensers, the restrooms at Mary Rathbone Rich Park and Parham Park will be closed to the public until further notice. (Updated March 20, 2020)

In all Town facilities, we have added extra sanitation measures including daily disinfecting of surfaces, we are encouraging frequent hand washing and we have implemented social distancing policies and employee travel bans aimed at protecting the health and well-being of our teammates and the public. We have canceled all advisory board meetings for the next thirty days.

We realize that you depend on us, and we are committed to serving our citizens throughout the COVID-19 crisis. The Town’s mission is simple, yet powerful: Provide quality services to protect the health, safety, and welfare of our citizens.  Again, the health and safety of our citizens and employees is our top priority, and we are committed to doing our part to help keep Maggie Valley safe.

Here is a brief list of important phone numbers and email address of key Maggie Valley staff members that can be assistance during this turbulent time. Please use www.maggievalleync.gov as a reference for services and additional contact information. As always in case of an emergency call 911.

Nathan Clark                Town Manager              828.926.0866                nclark@maggievalleync.gov

Vickie Best, CMC         Town Clerk                  828.926.0866 x102             vbest@maggievalleync.gov

Shayne Wheeler            Finance Director           828.926.0866 x101             swheeler@maggievalleync.gov

Shelly Coker                 Admin Services             828.926.0866 x117             scoker@maggievalleync.gov

Ron Hancock, AICP      Town Planner               828.926.0866 x104             rhancock@maggievalleync.gov

Mike Mehaffey             Public Works Director   828.926.0866 x102             mmehaffey@maggievalleync.gov

Russ Gilliland               Police Chief                  828.926.0867                rgilliland@maggievalleync.gov

Ondrea Murphy             Admin Services             828.926.0867                omurphy@maggievalleync.gov

Please reach out if you have any questions or concerns.

Nathan Clark, Town Manager